Home linked to founding family of Monroe listed on National Register
A Queen Anne home infused with Eastlake-type architecture the moment served as the residence to the fantastic-grandson of a founder of Monroe.
The Roland M. Filhiol Home, located at 111 Stone Ave., Monroe, served as the residence of the good-grandson of Don Juan Filhiol, commander of the troopers who built Fort Miro and hence established the Town of Monroe.
Fort Miro was a Spanish outpost during the late 18th century that proceeded the Town of Monroe. Don Juan Filhiol, an officer at the effectively-recognized Opelousas submit, was selected by Louisiana’s Spanish Governor, Esteban Rodriguez Miro, to found and command a new publish in the remote Ouachita District, in what is nowadays component of northeast Louisiana.
The outpost that sprang up around that fort, which was started in 1791, was renamed Monroe in 1820 to commemorate the 1st arrival of the steamboat James Monroe.
Filhiol was charged with grouping the scattered inhabitants into civilized settlements, restricting intense English and American encroachment into what was then Spanish territory and selling harmony with disgruntled Native Us citizens.
Wossman Significant Faculty:Historic Queen Anne and Eastlake dwelling was property of Wossman Significant University namesake in Monroe
Roland M. Filhiol was a profitable agriculturalist and businessman who owned several plantations and participated in a range of other organizations.
The dwelling, found around I-20 in an more mature mixed-employed household and industrial community in downtown Monroe, was created in 1895 for Filhiol.
The Queen Anne-type functions observed on the property contain an asymmetrical articulation showcasing a corner entrance and vestibule tucked among two projecting rooms, a gallery that wraps all-around the two sides of the structure that flank the most important entrance, and 3 polygonal bays, two of which attributes 45-degree corner cuts.
The home’s elaborate Eastlake ornament includes the decoration of the home’s three authentic gables, each and every of which is handled in different ways. The southern, front-going through gable capabilities twin sunburst motifs formed of turned users in the two lower corners and an abacus-like horizontal band underneath a truncated roof. In addition to the latticework, the eastern gable has a bargeboard showcasing floral motifs, bull’s eye ornament, and an abacus-like horizontal band.
Other capabilities of fascination observed in the household include things like beaded-board wainscoting in the vestibule and hallway, chair rails in the corridor and parlor, tall molded and reeded baseboards, and paneled interior doors surmounted by doing work two-mild transoms, picket floors and parlor windows which attain the floor.
Monroe:Historic business office of Monroe law firm, politician who refused to sign ordinance of secession
Filhiol sold the home three many years in advance of his loss of life in 1906. In 1918, the home was purchased by the Edward M. Strong family members, who owned it until finally 1948. The LaFrance household acquired the household from the Potent loved ones and expanded the attic in buy to accommodate their substantial family members.
The residence is at the moment is owned by Larry Lockwood, in accordance to Ouachita Parish Tax Assessor data.
Stick to Ian Robinson on Twitter @_irobinsonand on Fb at https://bit.ly/3vln0w1.
Support community journalism by subscribing at https://cm.thenewsstar.com/specialoffer.